People Take Pictures of Each Other

Posted: January 13, 2012 in History, Photography
Tags: , , , , , ,

The other day I had the honor of interviewing Louise Lippincott, curator of fine arts for the Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburgh.

The topic was the exhibition “Teenie Harris, Photographer: An American Story,” which runs through April 7 at the museum. Louise spoke at length about the project, and I used her narrative for a video showing Mr. Harris’ work.

I’d heard of Teenie Harris long ago through his work with the Pittsburgh Courier shooting the Homestead Grays, Pittsburgh Crawfords and other Negro League teams. Later, when I moved to Western Pennsylvania, I lerned more about him and came to respect him as a pre-eminent chronicler of history.

If you live within driving distance of The Carnegie, or even beyond, you’ll do yourself a favor by visiting the exhibition. And plan to stay for a long while.

I’ll be posting my video on Monday, in commemoration of Martin Luther King Day, as Dr. King was the subject of quite a few of Mr. Harris’ photos.

Associated listening: “The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society” (1968)

Shout out: I received word from my Twitter buddy and fellow journalist Lici from Mississippi that she’d mentioned me in her newspaper column. Thanks, Lici!!!
We are encouraging each other to blog more consistently in the New Year! Her blog is Ramblin’ Prose, and I highly encourage you to check out her work. ‘Cause Lici is a much better writer.

Comments are closed.